top of page

Tulsi or Tulasi (Holy Basil)

Updated: Jun 11, 2020

Tulsi is a sacred plant in Hinduism. Every part of the Tulsi plant is considered sacred even the soil the plant is in. In Ayurveda and Hinduism, Tulsi is celebrated as a plant that can be worshiped, ingested, and also supports medicinal and spiritual purposes within daily life.


When I was growing up my grandmother had the Tulsi plant in the center of the courtyard (verandah). My grandmother used to light a lamp and water the Tulsi plant every morning. In the Hindu religion, it is considered that the person who takes care of the Tulsi plant gains Moksha (Heaven).


I remember as a child, my grandmother used to feed me five (5) Tulsi leaves every morning. Being a curious child, I used to ask her tons 'n' tons of questions as to why I have to take five (5) leaves every morning. She used to smile and give me a new answer every day. Even though I live in New York now, Tulsi still holds a special place in my home and heart given so many of my childhood memories are attached to it.


In my busy New York lifestyle, I don't get to observe the rituals my grandmother followed but I do have few pots of Tulsi plant and I try to water them regularly. I don't feed five leaves of Tulsi to my boys every day but I do include it in their diets when they get sick.


Benefits of Tulsi (Holy Basil):

  • Lowers cholesterol

  • Reduces stress and blood pressure

  • Helpful for Diabetes patients

  • Helps with Gastrointestinal issues

  • Reduces fever

  • Help fight common cold and cough

  • Good for skin and hair

  • Acts as an insect repellent


 

Disclaimer: The above-shared information is my personal faith, and belief and which I contributed for blog purposes only. All the benefits of Tulsi are not what I researched thus no one should consume Tulsi leaves or plant without consulting with their Doctor or Ayurveda practitioner. Thanks for reading.






106 views0 comments

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page