top of page

Khichdi (Porridge)- Ayurvedic Cleanse

Updated: Jun 8, 2020

Khichdi is well-known comfort food in India for its gentle, cleansing, and detoxifying properties. Khichdi is believed to balance and wellness to the body. Khichdi recipe is very easy to digest and detoxifies the entire system.


As a kid, when I used to get sick, my Nani (grandma) used to feed me Khichdi three times a day. I used to complain about it then as, like any other kid, I wanted Pasta, Pizza, and all the other processed food. Growing up, I never understood the benefits of Khichdi and how it provides strength to the body and balances all the Doshas upon digestion.


Now being a mother, I feed my boys the same food as my Nani when they get sick. By following the path she showed me years ago, I feel she is still alive within me. It's her traditions that I am trying to follow and hope my Boys will to when they grow up.


Benefits of Khichdi:

  • Easy to Digest

  • It's a complete Protein

  • Improves Digestion

  • Removes Natural Toxins from the body



 

Khichdi Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup basmati rice

  • 1 cup yellow mung or split green mung lentil

  • 3 1/2 cups water

  • 1/8 teaspoon asafoetida (hing) powder

  • Salt to taste

  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric

  • 2 teaspoons ghee

  • 1/8 teaspoon red chili powder

  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper.

  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin seeds

  • 1 tablespoon cilantro

Method:

  1. Wash rice and mung or split green mung lentil.

  2. Drain the rice and place in a saucepan.

  3. Add water, asafoetida, salt, and turmeric.

  4. Cook on low heat high until the rice and lentils are mushy, roughly 20-25 minutes. Keep checking on the saucepan from time to time to make sure it stays mushy and doesn't become dry.

  5. Turn off heat and set aside.

  6. Heat ghee in a small pan, when hot, add cumin seeds, red chili powder, and black pepper.

  7. When cumin seeds begin to crackle, mix this to the mushy rice and lentils and stir well.

  8. Garnish with more ghee and cilantro.


 
Disclaimer: The above shared information is my personal faith and belief and which I contributed for blog purposes only. The recipe is shared for blog purposes only. Before consuming, make sure you are not allergic to any ingredients. Enjoy!!



78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page